Jump To Time Period

Back to Top Pre 1600 1600-1620 1620-1640 1640-1660 1660-1680 1680-1700 1700-1720 1720-1740 1740-1760 1760-1775

Pre 1600

Origins of New France 1523-1541

Early European and French Exploration of North America – 1492 to 1534


Plymouth Colony is established December 1620

The Dutch established the colony of New Netherland

Dutch; established New Netherland

September 1609 The First Anglo-Powhatan War

28 August: Henry Hudson lands at what is now Half Moon Bay in the Delaware Bay

Half Moon Bay lands

Henry Hudson anchored in what is now New York Bay

Jamestown is Resupplied January 1608

14 May: The English established the Jamestown, VA colony


Swedes ; Peter Hollander Ridder extends bounds from the Schuylkill to the Sankikans

The Forgotten History of the Swedish Colony in America March 1638

Manners and Customs of Swedish Forefathers in New Sweden, 1638-1656

Swedes; Fort Christina erected

Williamsburg is Established by the Recently formed Virginia General Assembly February 1632

Dutch; Fort Nassau

Dutch; Fort Amsterdam established,

The History of New Netherland – May 1624

Dutch established a settlement on the upper Hudson

Dutch; established colony on upper Hudson


Swedes; Governor Johan Rising

Swedes; Printz bought land

Dutch; Beversreede built a fortified trading post

Swedes; Governor Johan Printz built Fort Elfsborg

Swedes; Peter Ridder bought land

Swedes ; Peter Hollander Ridder extends bounds from the Schuylkill to the Sankikans


St. Jones County (DE) formed from Southern New Castle and Northern Hoarkill

New Castle gained land from Upland

King Philip’s War, also known as Metacom’s War or the First Indian War, was an armed conflict between English colonists and the American Indians of New England.

Southern area came under the control of the Duke of York, New Amstel changed to New Castle (DE)

County like courts established at Upland and the Dutch Delaware River settlements of New Amstel (DE) and Hoarkill (DE)

The Dutch occupied New York City in what was Third Anglo-Dutch War

The Treaty of Westminster, confirmed English ownership of NYC and New Netherland, what is now known as New York

The Treaty of Breda signed and ended the second Anglo-Dutch war, and confirmed that New York City and New Netherland became an English territory

New Amsterdam reincorporated as New York City


King William’s War, also known as the First Indian War, Father Baudoin’s War, Castin’s War, or the First Intercolonial War. It was the North American theater of Europe’s Nine Years’ War (1688–97), also known as the War of the Grand Alliance or the War of the League of Augsburg

New Castle gained land from Northern Sussex County

Bucks, Chester (replacing Upland and named for Chester, England), Philadelphia Counties established; three Lower Counties under Penn – New Castle, Sussex (previously Hoarkill), and Kent (previously St. Jones).

Land from just south of the 40th parallel to the 42nd parallel, what is now known as Pennsylvania, granted to William Penn by King Charles II

Upland County eliminated

St. Jones County (DE) formed from Southern New Castle and Northern Hoarkill


Lower Counties (Delaware) became independent of Pennsylvania

Queen Anne’s War was the second in a series of French and Indian Wars (or Second Intercolonial War) fought in England’s American Colonies during the reign of Queen Anne. It is viewed in America as a stand-alone conflict, though in Europe it is seen as the American theater of the War of the Spanish Succession


Cresap’s War ended as the parties where compelled to negotiate a peace by King George II

Walking Purchase

Cresap’s War begins as a boundary dispute between Maryland and Pennsylvania

Lancaster (non-county area) formed from Chester County


French and Indian War pitted the colonies of British America against those of New France, and was the North American conflict in a larger imperial war between Great Britain and France known as the Seven Years’ War

Berks County created from Cumberland, Lancaster, and Philadelphia counties; non county area; named after Berkshire, Penn’s family home county

Northampton County created from Bucks County (non-county area), Easton county seat, named for Easton Neston, a country house in England built in 1694

Cumberland County exchanged land with York County

York County formed from Lancaster (named for either the city in Yorkshire, England or Duke of York

King George’s War, the third of the four French and Indian or Intercolonial Wars, is the name given to the military operations in North America that formed part of the War of the Austrian Succession (1740–1748)


Connecticut established the town of Westmoreland in NE Pennsylvania, as part of Litchfield County, CT. This was the result of Connecticut’s claim to the Wyoming Valley. The dispute was over an interpretation of original Connecticut royal charter from 1662. It was ultimately resolved in 1782 with The Decree of Trenton

Virginia establishes West Augusta District in the SW area of Province of PA, west of Bedford County. This area was governed from Fort Dunmore, formerly Fort Duquesne, and later was Fort Pitt.

Bedford County gained land from Cumberland County

Northumberland County from Bedford, Lancaster, Cumberland, Berks, and Northampton Counties; Indian village of Shamokin renamed Sunbury and named as county seat, named for Sunbury-on-Thames; area originally settled by Moravians in 1741

Bedford County created from Cumberland County and named for Fort Bedford

Mason Dixon line survey completed, established the boundaries between modern day MD, DE, and PA

Pontiac’s Rebellion peace negotiations completed

Pontiac’s Rebellion in peace negotiations started

Mason Dixon line survey started

Proclamation Line